Back to blog
Library12 min read

Sider vs Monica: Which AI Sidebar Is Better in 2026?

Sider vs Monica compared on free-plan limits, pricing transparency, and features, checked directly against both vendors' own pages and the Chrome Web Store as of September 2026.

NH
Nafiul Hasan
Founder, Prompt Architects

TL;DR: Sider and Monica are both browser sidebars for multi-model AI chat, translation, and content tools, and they overlap more than they differ. Sider documents its free-tier limits in readable text; Monica's equivalent numbers are hidden behind a live API call we couldn't read. Neither publishes exact current prices without executing JavaScript, and both now ship a basic prompt-save feature (opened with "/"), though neither documents the tagging, contexts, or team sharing a dedicated library adds.

What Are Sider and Monica, in One Sentence Each?

Sider is a browser extension (plus iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows apps) built around five named product areas: Chat, Hand (browser automation, renamed from "Claw" before September 17, 2026), Code (webpage customization), Create (image/video/slide generation), and Wisebase (a research knowledge base). We cover it in full depth in Sider AI Review 2026.

Monica is a similarly structured browser sidebar and app. Its Chrome Web Store listing, checked September 17, 2026, names the models behind its multi-chat feature as "GPT-5.2, GPT-4o, Claude 4.5 Sonnet, Gemini 3 Pro, & more," and separately documents a "Prompt Library" alongside Chat, AI Search, AI Write, and AI Art. It markets itself as reachable from Chrome, Edge, or a native app via a keyboard shortcut.

Both are wide, multi-purpose extensions rather than single-feature tools, which is the whole reason a head-to-head is genuinely useful: the differences that matter are less about capability and more about pricing transparency, free-tier limits, and which specific extra tools you'd actually use.

Both also ship well beyond the Chrome extension that made each one's name. Sider's own product navigation lists iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows apps alongside the extension, with a subscription that follows you across them. Monica's own site advertises the same cross-platform reach, offering install paths for "Chrome, Edge, or our APP" and a native mobile app promoted directly from its pricing page. Neither is a browser-only tool at this point, even though both are best known as one.

How Do Their Free Plans Compare?

This is the area where the two vendors' own pages differ most, not in generosity but in how much either one is willing to state in plain, readable text.

Sider (free)Monica (free)
Documented in static page text?Yes — FAQ schema states exact numbersNo — free-query fields are live-API templates
Chat allowance"30 Basic Credits/Day," per its own FAQNamed categories (GPT-4, GPT-3.5, AI Drawing) exist; exact counts not confirmable from a static fetch
Rate limit10 messages every 60 minutes on Basic CreditNot stated in the page text we could read
Images / PDFs10 image queries, 10 PDFs total (200 pages/PDF)Not stated in the page text we could read

Sider's own FAQ, quoted directly: "Free User has: *30 Basic Credits/Day, *10 Image Queries Total, *10 PDFs Total, 200 pages/PDF." That is a concrete, checkable claim you can test against your own usage in a few minutes.

Monica's pricing page names the same shape of free allowance, three separate categories: a bolded count of "GPT-4 Free Queries", "GPT-3.5 Free Queries", and "AI Drawing Credits". The counts themselves, though, are populated as $var_gpt4, $var_gpt3, and $var_artist template placeholders in the page's own client-side code, meaning even Monica's own bundle doesn't hardcode the numbers; they're fetched live. We could not state Monica's actual free-tier limits with the same confidence we could for Sider, and we're saying so directly rather than guessing at a plausible-sounding number.

What Do They Actually Cost?

Neither vendor makes this easy to check without logging in, and it's worth being direct about that rather than reporting numbers we couldn't verify.

Both sider.ai/pricing and monica.im/pricing are client-rendered applications. A direct fetch of either page's HTML returns plan names but no dollar figures; both bundles populate prices from a live API call after the page loads, confirmed by finding $var_price-style template placeholders in both codebases instead of hardcoded numbers.

What we can confirm, from each vendor's own current page, is the plan lineup itself. Sider's embedded plan-name dictionary lists Free, Basic, Pro, Unlimited, plus Starter, Pocket, and Team tiers, and a premium Sider Plus tier with Elite Credits for its agent features. Monica's own /pricing page meta description states it directly: "Compare the features of the three plans of Monica: Pro, Pro plus, Unlimited." That sits alongside a separate Free tier and a Team Plan confirmed elsewhere in its own page code.

That naming asymmetry is itself worth noting. Sider spreads its lineup across seven named tiers, several clearly aimed at different buyer types (Pocket suggests a lighter mobile-first option, Starter a step below Basic). Monica compresses its paid ladder into three steps, Pro, Pro Plus, and Unlimited, which reads as a simpler decision on paper, though "simpler" only helps you if the actual gap between those three tiers, in credits or features, is something you can see before you pay, and neither vendor's static page shows you that gap in numbers.

Both companies also run credit systems rather than a single flat "unlimited" tier for everyone, worth flagging since "unlimited" appears in both product lines' plan names. Sider's own copy is explicit that its Unlimited plan still caps premium-model usage at 1,500 Advanced Credits a month before quality may be reduced, per its own FAQ. We did not find an equivalent stated cap for Monica's Unlimited plan in the static page content we could read; that could mean Monica's Unlimited tier is closer to genuinely unlimited, or it could simply mean the cap, if one exists, is disclosed only after signup. We're not asserting either way.

How Do Their Feature Sets Compare?

Set side by side on what each vendor's own current page states, rather than what either one implies:

Sider's five named areas:      Monica's named features:
- Chat (multi-model)           - Chat / AI Search
- Hand (browser automation)    - AI Write
- Code (webpage customization) - AI Art (image generation)
- Create (image/video/slides)  - Prompt Library
- Wisebase (knowledge base)    - Coding assistance

The practical difference is emphasis, not raw capability. Sider leans harder into a named automation layer (Hand) and a dedicated research knowledge base (Wisebase); Monica's listing leans on one-click chat, search, and its own Prompt Library as distinguishing language, closer in spirit to a general assistant than a dedicated automation platform. Neither vendor's own page makes a claim we could verify about doing something the other structurally cannot; the deciding factor for most people will be which specific extra tool, Hand's automation or Monica's broader chat and search set, you'd actually reach for.

Which Has More Users, By the Numbers?

Two independent counts, checked the same day, tell a more consistent story than either vendor's own marketing copy alone.

SourceSiderMonica
Chrome Web Store users5,000,0003,000,000
Chrome Web Store ratings114.3K at 4.932.2K at 4.9
Vendor's own site claim"10M+ active users"Not independently found on Monica's own pricing page in the same explicit form

By the Chrome Web Store's own count, Sider has a larger installed base and roughly 3.5 times the rating volume, at the same 4.9-star average as Monica. Sider's own site separately claims "10M+ active users", a figure that doesn't match the Chrome listing; that's likely a broader count across its mobile and desktop apps rather than a contradiction, but we can't confirm the methodology, so we're reporting both numbers rather than picking the more flattering one for either tool.

Worth naming directly: a 4.9-star average on 32,000-plus reviews and a 4.9-star average on 114,000-plus reviews are not really the same claim, even though they look identical printed side by side. A larger review sample is harder to game and more representative of a typical user's experience; Sider's rating carries roughly 3.5 times the sample size behind the identical headline number. Neither figure tells you about recent reviews specifically, since the Chrome Web Store surfaces an all-time average rather than a rolling one, so a tool that's declined in quality recently could still show the same historical 4.9 for months.

Both companies' own pricing pages also lead with a credibility claim before they lead with a price, which is worth naming as a pattern rather than a criticism of either one specifically: user counts and star ratings are the first thing a visitor sees, ahead of what a plan actually costs or unlocks. That's ordinary SaaS marketing practice, not a red flag unique to either tool, but it's part of why this review leads with the numbers we could independently check rather than the framing either vendor chose for its own page.

What Does Neither Sider Nor Monica Do?

This is worth a section of its own rather than a passing mention, because it's the actual gap that decides whether either tool solves your real problem.

Both Sider and Monica now document a basic prompt-save feature, each opened with "/", per their own Chrome Web Store listings. What neither documents is a saved, searchable, taggable set of your own prompts that stays organized and reusable across projects, clients, or models: tags, per-client contexts, global variables, or team sharing. Sider's Wisebase, separately, is a knowledge base for research, notes, and documents, not prompts specifically. We cover this same structural gap, custom AI setups versus a dedicated prompt library, from a different angle in our Custom GPTs vs. prompt library comparison, and from a model-comparison angle in ChatGPT vs Claude: Which Writes Better Prompts in 2026?

If you're evaluating Sider or Monica specifically because you keep losing your best prompts, each has a basic hotkey save now, but neither's own documentation claims tagging, per-client organization, or team sharing. A dedicated prompt library, ours or anyone else's, is a different purchase, and it's a genuinely complementary one rather than a competing one: nothing stops you from running Sider or Monica as your daily sidebar while keeping your working prompts somewhere searchable, tagged, and reusable across whichever model you point either sidebar at. That is the actual comparison we're positioned to make honestly, having recommended a category of tool neither vendor's own page claims to be, rather than declaring a false winner on a job we don't do either. If you also want to see how a dedicated prompt-manager extension stacks up against us directly, Promptly vs Prompt Architects covers that comparison.

So, Which One Should You Use?

On the numbers we could verify directly, Sider has the larger installed base, the more concretely documented free tier, and a named automation layer (Hand) that Monica's own page doesn't describe an equivalent for. That's a real, checkable edge, not just a bigger marketing claim; you can test Sider's free 30-Basic-Credits-a-day allowance against your own usage in minutes, which is more than you can currently do with Monica's own stated free limits.

That doesn't make Monica the wrong choice. Its feature set overlaps heavily with Sider's on chat, search, and writing, its Chrome Web Store rating matches Sider's at 4.9 stars, and if its specific model lineup (GPT-5.2, Claude 4.5 Sonnet, Gemini 3 Pro) fits your workflow better, that's a legitimate reason to prefer it that has nothing to do with which tool documents its free tier more clearly. Test both free tiers yourself before paying for either; that's the one part of this comparison you don't have to take on our word.

A practical way to decide, given what we could and couldn't verify: install both free extensions for a week before paying for either. Sider's free limits are stated plainly enough to test against your real usage on day one. Monica's aren't stated with the same precision anywhere we could read, so the only reliable way to learn its actual free-tier ceiling is to hit it yourself and see what the app tells you in the moment, rather than trusting a number from any review, including this one. If Hand's browser automation or Wisebase's research storage turn out to be things you actually reach for during that week, that's a real signal in Sider's favor beyond the numbers above. If Monica's writing and search tools fit how you already work, that's an equally real signal the other way, and no amount of user-count comparison should override what you notice in your own week of actual use.

Free Chrome Extension

Stop rewriting prompts. Start shipping.

Works with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Midjourney, Ideogram, Veo3 & Kling. 4.8★ on the Chrome Web Store.

Create An Account

Whichever sidebar you land on, its basic prompt-save hotkey solves a narrower problem than a dedicated prompt library does. If your actual frustration is organizing, tagging, or sharing your best prompts across a team, that's worth solving separately, alongside whichever of these two you end up installing.

Frequently asked questions

Free Chrome Extension

Stop rewriting prompts. Start shipping.

Works with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Midjourney, Ideogram, Veo3 & Kling. 4.8★ on the Chrome Web Store.

Create An Account